Crochet · Finished Objects · Work in progress

Free Fingerless Gloves Pattern — Superhero-themed

Two weeks ago I first spoke of my plans of making Marvel superhero-themed fingerless gloves. This past long weekend I at last got around to making the first two gloves — Hawkeye and Black Widow. While I was planning on using a specific free pattern, I ended up making up my own pattern, which you can find below. I’ll also put up a PDF here and on Ravelry as soon as it’s done.

tumblr_nlsemdOxpW1uovo1xo1_500

Both of these gloves are worked fully in black, with the patterns worked as separate appliques that are sewn onto the glove. One reason for this is that I wanted to keep the pattern as simple as possible so that beginners can also make them. The size is also very easily adjustable — the stitches given in the pattern is simply the amount I used to get a comfortable fit for me.

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 2.13.32 PM

Pattern

Needed:

  • DK yarn in black (I used Elle Charity yarn)
  • 4-ply yarn in purple (I used Chick yarn from The Stash.) (Hawkeye)
  • 4-ply yarn in red (I used Mirage yarn from The Stash) (Black Widow)
  • 5 mm hook
  • 4 mm hook
  • Needle for working in the ends

Method – Glove (make 2):

Work in DK yarn with 5 mm hook

 Make a foundation chain of 35 stitches (measure your hand to adjust size and number of stitches), close with slip stich.

Working in the round:

Row 1 – 5: 1 double crochet in each stitch around, starting each row with 2 chain that count as the first stitch. Close each row with a slip stitch.

Working back and forth:

(This will be the thumb opening)

Row 6 – 14: 1 double crochet in each stitch around, do NOT close with slip stitch, but turn and work in opposite direction. Close ONLY row 14 with a slip stitch. (You can use fewer rows here – just measure on your hand as you go along.)

Working in the round:

Row 15-16: Work one double crochet in each stitch, but decrease with one stitch at the end of the row.

Row 17 – 24: Work one double crochet in each stitch without decreasing.

Work in ends.

Method – Hawkeye applique:

This chevron is worked in much the same way as you work a ripple stitch blanket, but using only 14 chain stitches to make one “ripple”.

Work in 4-ply yarn with 4 mm hook

Note on final row: Instead of working 3 trebles twice in the centre two stitches, work (2 trebles, 1 double treble) twice. This will ensure that the chevron doesn’t have a rounded point. You should have 4 – 5 rows in all (just check size against the size glove you’re making).

Pin applique to the glove and stitch onto glove using whip stitch. (I kept the ends of the chevron long and used those to attach the applique with.)

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 2.13.22 PM

Method – Black Widow applique:

Black Widow’s applique is made up of two triangles of treble stitches. It is also worked onto a black background.

Work in 4-ply yarn with 4 mm hook

Pin applique to the glove and stitch onto glove using whip stitch. (I kept the ends long and used those to attach the applique with.)

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 2.13.05 PM

Media24 Research advertising-20170503122607

The Next Patterns!

The next two patterns I will be making will be Captain America and Winter Soldier. These I’ll probably only have ready by the end of the month, as I have a few other bits and pieces I’m also working on. These will be slightly more difficult than the Hawkeye and Black Widow patterns, I think, but will still be fine for beginners to make.

Other WIPs

Besides these gloves, I am also working on the peacock shawl, baby beanies, and am making an adult size Jack Skellington beanie pattern for another friend (which will also be available here once it’s done). Then there is more baby crochet for a pregnant colleague’s baby shower later in the month.

Ps. My wrist is a bit icky this week which is why the patterns are so wonderfully drawn. Hopefully by next week I’ll be back to normal and can redraw them properly!

tumblr_o8z938vxbP1sli2awo1_500

Leave a Reply

