Crochet · Finished Objects · Ramblings · Work in progress

WIPs for Winter 2017 Part 1

Here in the southern hemisphere winter is quickly approaching and, with it, the need for some new fingerless gloves for me and some of my friends. There are oodles of patterns — both free and paid — available, but I have decided to make one of my own as I was specifically asked for Marvel-themed gloves. As I want some Marvel-themed ones as well, I decided to take this simple pattern and change it up a bit to fit in with the different characters. The characters chosen for the first four are, Hawkeye, Black Widow, Captain America, and Winter Soldier.

So I am thinking that Hawkeye will be black and purple, Black Widow black and red, Winter Soldier grey and red, and Captain America blue, red and white.

I’ll continue to make some inspired by other characters as well (Iron Man, Hulk, Scarlet Witch, etc.) as time goes by.

tumblr_nkqc9irEBe1tztau1o1_500

Other WIPs – moar beanies, an octopus, and a shawl

I’m still busy with the peacock shawl and have only now picked it up again after a few months. (The shawl is actually this gorgeous pattern by Jasmin Räsänen.) It’s getting a bit big to work on while standing in a queue or the like, so I’m using that time to work on some more beanies using the Lisha Hat design you can download for free on Ravelry. I’m making most of the beanies to be 0 – 3 months.

I also found out that my one friend is pregnant (*does happy dance*) and she asked me to make one of the octopuses usually given to preemie babies in the hospital. For this one I’m using Stylecraft’s baby wool (nice going me for losing the label!) for the octopus and a bit of cotton to embroider the face. Expect more baby stuff in the future as I start making some things for her!

tumblr_o8z938vxbP1sli2awo1_500

One thought on “WIPs for Winter 2017 Part 1

Leave a Reply

