Crochet · Finished Objects · Ramblings

Shawls All Around

Or, one Finished Object and my other WIPs

Although I don’t wear them nearly often enough (the weather is just too warm for me most of the time), I love shawls and wraps. Probably because I don’t very much like jackets and layers and feeling a bit like the Michelin Man when I’m walking around. Like most knitters (as far as I know, at least), I started knitting scarves and also crocheted a shawl. But most of my crocheting has been doilies and tray cloths and that kind of thing. (Yes, I like lacy patterns a LOT and I enjoy working in the round the most so…)

Then came Pinterest and Ravelry and, with them, more patterns that I could ever make and, boy, are there a lot of patterns I want to make! But one that really caught my eye was this pineapple shawl on Pinterest. So, armed with the pattern and some wool I set out to make The Pineapple Shawl of Awesomeness. If someone can point me to the origin of the pattern I would be thrilled, by the way.

It took me quite some time, but finish it I did and then immediately carried it outside to photograph. (What you don’t see in the photographs, though, is my neighbour working on his car just out of the frame as the complex’s driveway was the only place where I could hang it up and take decent photos!)

The other shawl I started at the same time I still need to finish, alas, but I also need some more thread! It’s my own pattern and is called the Mermaid Tail Shawl. Once I get my hands on more thread though…

Another WIP which I started in July this year and have put aside while I tackle the mermaid blankets is Aranuir by Jasmin Räsänen. How. Gorgeous. Is. This. Pattern? I just knew when I saw it that I needed to work it in number 5 thread and use it as a theatre shawl. Or at least fancy-night-out-shawl. It also trekked all the way to Stellenbosch with me in August and it was bliss to work on it while sitting outside and staring at the mountains. I’m planning on working on it again as soon as I’ve finished the tail blankets and The Forgotten Christmas Present (more about this in the next post).

Then there is the final WIP I’ve started that will also be a shawl, but will be less fiddly than Aranuir as it’s worked in DK. Sometimes your hands just need a rest from thread, and I’ve found that DK is the perfect weight for me to work in then. Also the yarn is gorgeous. It had a false start though, with me not reading the pattern properly and making seven trebles instead of five. I know. Luckily I realised this after only a few rows and was able to frog it without feeling too bad about it. This is also from a pattern found on Pinterest – a two row repeat that can also be used as a brain relaxer after a difficult day.

screen-shot-2016-12-08-at-11-04-32-am

If you’d like to see more shawls and find patterns for the perfect one for you, watch the new Crafternoon Treats podcast or head over to the Crafternoon Treats website.

Leave a Reply

