Crochet · Work in progress

WIP – Mermaid Tail Blankets

Like many of you, I am at any time busy with a couple of projects. My main project at the moment, though, is making three mermaid tail blankets. Blanket one is already finished and found a home all the way in England, while the second one is about three quarters of the way done. I’m hoping to finish it this weekend, but first need to go and get some more wool. I seriously underestimated the amount I need to complete the tail. I blame the yarn fumes and the fact that there was a sale on in the shop while I was there. You can’t blame me for not thinking straight…

Here’s the first tail all done –

14727533_696607493822941_7627294728609857536_n_small2

Ingredients:

7 x balls of Elle Family Knit in Doodle colourway

1 x ball of Elle Pullskein in Mistletoe colourway

5 mm hook throughout

For the second tail I chose a different colourway altogether, and ended up using Elle Charity DK in various pastel shades and in mauve for the tail fins. Here’s a WIP photo in the meantime.

14473959_374478816219073_8901946622976458752_n_small2

I’m still pondering what colour scheme to do for the third tail. There are so many great ideas on Pinterest, but I’m leaning towards a more pink and purple tail.

Once I’m done with this tail I’ll write up the pattern I’ve been using and post it here and on Ravelry.

BTW, here’s a link to my Ravelry page.

Leave a Reply

